A very high quality of submissions was received for this inaugural competition. The prizes were sponsored by Analog Devices.

The winner was Nijun Wei from ITT Dublin with "A study of the effects of substrate temperature the properties of rf sputtered SnO2 films". She received a €1,000 prize.
The runners up were Fearghal Kineavy from NUIG with "MPPT DC-DC Converter Design for a PV Powered Electric Vehicle Charging System" and David Carthy from UCC with "A-LOGIC: Ultra Low Power Processor Design". They each received a €250 prize.
There were also many strong submissions that were submitted, including:

Mark McCrea from DKIT with "Reference Voltage Generator for a CMOS Clock Signal Generator"
Tiansheng He from ITT Dublin with "Design and implementation of a Temperature and Age Compensated Crystal Oscillator based on an MSP430 Microcontroller"
Aurimas Degimas from LYIT with "Precise Displacement Measurement System Using PSoC Technology"
Vasil Stoichkov from LYIT with "Accelerometer Controlled Wheelchair"
Peter Doyle from NUIG with "Design, Control and Implementation of Inverter Topologies Applied to Domestic Induction Heating"
K. Fleming, C. Bleach, M. Morgan, K. Neary and C. Wright from NUIG with "MINT – Minimally Intrusive Network Tracking"
Aoife O’Neill from NUIG with "Variable Inductors for Solar Power Applications"
Derek Bieniek from NUIM with "Using Electronics to Purify Water"
Fiona Edwards-Murphy and Amy Long from UCC with "Smart Toys"
Nathan Ellis from UCC with "A Switched Capacitor Charge Pump Current Source"

Well done to all involved!